Ten years of time

I woke up in an unfamiliar room, oh, it was my new hotel room. For the first time since a month, you were not on my mind when I opened my eyes. Though you soon flashed through my feeble morning mind, I still celebrated with the left over bottle of wine from last night.

Last night, I sang with two partners in crime. We were strangers almost a week ago, and we sang in a closed room until 3am. Shenzhen was still alive at 3am on a Tuesday, and we laughed with our last bit of voice on the street where we will probably never cross together again.

She sang a song for me, a song that my sister sang for me when my teenage love left me. The same song, ten years of time came back to my mind like waves of strong current. Her voice took me back to ten years ago, but her smile reminds me of her love at the moment. I hugged her tight, the smell of red wine and apple juice for children merged. I am no different, because I still hurt for love. I am different, because I can now face this pain with laughter.

她對我唱:

“沒有人能把誰的幸福沒收

你發誓你會活得有笑容

你自信時候真的美多了。”

He sat on the side, and knew nothing until the moment. He still made me laugh and sang beautifully as a gift for me. His voice took me to another place, and it didn’t remind me of how wonderfully the other he sings. Ah, how he loves to sing, and I took pleasure in such unfamiliar space with strangers, strangers only a week ago.

We went back to our rooms, we slept in dizziness and fading songs.

We woke up in darkness shielded by heavy curtains, but for the first time in many weeks, I wish to see the first beam of morning light before my alarm rouses me from infitine dreams.

Leave a comment